Skip to content

Motivation

November 8, 2009

Motivation does not go hand in hand with a busy schedule.  There is an excellent correlation between motivation and level of personal committment, but it’s not necessarily a positive trend.  Some people thrive on goals and stress.  Some people, be it personality or be it circumstance, fall into fight-or-flight mode when the going gets rough.  I fall somewhere in between the two.

Motivation waxes and wanes.  Time for me to get waxing.

This is our plot, dear readers:

  • Report Ginormico needs to go out this week.  Well, it doesn’t NEED to go out, but I would very much like to have it done before the 30th Anniversary of my Birth, so I can spend the day waltzing around and receiving best wishes from my friends and foes alike.  But this is just a short-term source of discomfort…  the completion of Report Ginormico is not where it ends…  my schedule for the rest of the year reads like a college course syllabus on the first day of class:  intimidating and scary long. 
  • I need to make some lifestyle changes…  I could really stand to lose 5 to 10 pounds.  Disclaimer:  I would like to express that this is not a decision driven by vanity…  I’d like to get back to my happy weight (ahem – where my favorite jeans fit)… and I’m hoping by doing that, I can drop a few seconds off my tempo pace (because, in fact, this is a running blog).  I’m not a waif, and I’ve long since accepted that my dimensions are genetically defined.
  • As I’ve alluded to a few times I / we have some big life decisions to make before the end of the year.   And I definitely fall into the “putting it off until the time is right” camp.

And what a good segue…  when IS the time right?  When is the time right to get motivated… or get healthy… or get happy?  On the Ninth Day of Birthmas, I dare myself to get my act in gear.   That’s right.  I said it…  DARE. 

Next up?  Goal setting for Dummies.  But first, I need to get Section 5.3 and 5.4 crossed off my to-do list.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

